Your Legal Guide For Workers' Compensation

A work injury can quickly become expensive, forcing employees back to work to pay for the bills. It is in your employer's best interest to have healthy, fully recovered workers; however, you are dealing with more than your employer when you file a workers' compensation claim. Your employer's insurance company will be approving for the claim.

Insurance companies are usually more concerned with their bottom line rather than covering workers' injury-related expenses. Our workers' compensation attorneys can ensure that you receive the maximum compensation to cover your injury and related expenses. At Coleman, Chambers & Rogers, LLP, we will help you find an appropriate physician, complete your claim and handle all communication with the insurance company.

What Expenses Are Covered In A Claim?

A workers' compensation claim can cover medical treatment related to the injury and missed wages. Generally, an employee's wage benefit is equal to two-thirds of their average weekly wages, based on the 13-week period prior to the work-related injury. These wage benefits generally continue, as long as the employee's doctor believes it is not appropriate for the injured employee to return to work (though the time period that an employee may receive wage benefits may be capped).

Are you temporarily or permanently disabled due to a workplace injury? If your work-related injury affects your ability to work in the future, you may be entitled to a lump-sum settlement as compensation. The amount of the compensation is dependent on a variety of factors, including your age, occupation and physical limitations. In some cases, workers may be eligible for a small lifetime pension.

Failing To Meet Deadlines Can Result In Loss Of Benefits

Contact our Gainesville office right away if you have been injured at work. Generally, Georgia law provides that you must notify your supervisor within 30 days. While there are exceptions to this rule, failure to do so may result in the loss of benefits. We can create a simple letter to inform the supervisor of your accident if you have not already done so.

Additionally, a Notice of Claim (Form WC-14) must be filed with the Workers' Compensation Board either: one year from the date of the injury; or one year from the date of the last authorized treatment paid for by your employer or its insurance company; or two years from the last payment of workers' compensation income benefits. Georgia law provides that an employee has 20 days to appeal an adverse decision by the Workers' Compensation Board. Failure to comply with these time requirements may result in a loss of your legal rights.

Do Not Face The Process Alone — Call Us

The workers' compensation filing process can be complicated. Unfortunately mistakes can result in denial of your claim. Contact our firm today for experienced legal guidance. Call us at 678-928-5757, or fill out an online contact form.